OAL and Saami specs

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
uplander
.204 Ruger Guns: Howa 1500
Location: Gretna Nebraska....way too close to Omaha but will do for now

OAL and Saami specs

Post by uplander »

I'm new to realoading and have spent a great deal of time reading posts on here as well as reading a couple of reloading books. I need some clarification on the oal and saami. As I look in my reloading manual, I see the SAAMI specs for the 204 are 2.260. Now, I've read some posts here that have gone to an oal of 2.28 or thereabouts. I will be shooting a Howa. From what I've read about this, the longer oal would put me closer to the lands which may or may not be a benefit...depending on my gun. However, what I'm curious about is if I exceed the SAAMI specs, will the rifle have issues/difficulty feeding from the magazine. Any help would be appreciated.

Justin
acloco
.204 Ruger Guns: 12FV, 12BVSS -S

Re: OAL and Saami specs

Post by acloco »

Yes, you can run into problems feeding from a mag/box.

Yes, you can run into pressure spikes if you are seating close, at, or into the lands, work up ALL of your loads in the highest, and sometimes lowest, temperatures that you may experience when excercising your 204.
pghjim

Post by pghjim »

I load 39gr. BK at 2.320 in my Remington LVSF and I am still pretty far from the lands. That is about how far my magazin will hold them and function well.
futuretrades
.204 Ruger Guns: HOWA 1500 .204 Ruger Varmint, Bull Bbl, Lupy 6-18x40 custom

Post by futuretrades »