.204 muzzle jump

Experiences and effectiveness in hunting with the 204 Ruger.
ifldned
.204 Ruger Guns: none

.204 muzzle jump

Post by ifldned »

I'm a newbie to long range squirrel shooting. I'm most interested in the .204 caliber. Do I need a rifle with a heavy barrel and a muzzle brake to see the impact on the target at 250-300 yards out ? And what is the maximum magnification scope that i can use and still see the hit ? I would like to shoot the 32 grain bullet. I'm reading posts on this sight of 500 yard hits with a 32 grain bullet. I'm amazed.
thanks, ifldned
futuretrades
.204 Ruger Guns: HOWA 1500 .204 Ruger Varmint, Bull Bbl, Lupy 6-18x40 custom

Re: .204 muzzle jump

Post by futuretrades »

IMHO, 500 yards is a little far for the 32 gr. pill, but I know it can be done, as I have ranged hits at 500 yds with the 32's. At some of these longer ranges, I prefer and use the 39 gr. SBK's. And they will buck the wind a lot better. As for a scope, my 204 Howa with a bull barrel, sports a Leupold 6-18x40 AO. But most of my shooting is done at 12 power or sometimes even 14 power, if the heat waves are not too bad. In most cases I see my hits very graphically, even beyond 400 yds.

You will probably hear from other members that see their hits even with a sporter barrel. My 223 has a sport barrel on it, and I see a lot of my hits with it also.
NRA Benefactor Life member
HOWA 1500 Varmint 204 Ruger, Bull Barrel, Hogue Overmold Stock, Leupold VXII 6-18x40mm AO LRV Custom Reticle Timney Trigger
Cooper Mdl 21 20VarTargW/Leupold VXIII, 6-20x40AO Varmint Hunter reticle.
Jim White
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ-527, Remington 700 VLTHSS

Post by Jim White »