PD Hunters

Experiences and effectiveness in hunting with the 204 Ruger.
Clint E
.204 Ruger Guns: none

PD Hunters

Post by Clint E »

Ok you guys talk about hunting prarrie dogs and rock chucks. I have watched a few vidios on hunting these little critters but i would like to be filled in on a little more detail on this. I live in central Il. so all i can realy compare them to is a squirll in size. I have been able to pick a few ground hogs off through the years . Are they as much fun to hunt as they look.
All i have really picked up on watching vidios is to have a couple of good rifles and alot of ammo and alot of reading on this board. Your input would be appreciated.
Basicly what i am saying is how do you go about it from beging to end.
Thanks Hunt4em
Ruger1
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 LRPV

Re: PD Hunters

Post by Ruger1 »

OK Hunt4em,

This is my 1st post although I have been reading the forum for a while. I retired 2 years ago and live in Missouri. I started shooting these critters right after retirement and I'm addicted to say the least. My 1st trip to SD was so much fun I stayed 7 weeks. So far I've hunted them in SD, Kansas and Colorado. The most fun I've ever had except maybe when I was young and had wheels and was hunting quail in Illinois. I've invested a ton of money in rifles, scopes and reloading equipment etc. Get your hunting buddy and a couple of decent rifles and scopes. My advice would be to get a guide your 1st time out and maybe allow a couple of extra days if you have the time to start working on finding places to shoot when you are out there on your hunt. Research, meeting other shooters on forums and put your time in locating places to shoot is what it takes. Just like you did here, ask questions. Lots of knowledge on this forum for sure. One thing for sure is get a .204!!!! I'd say try to plan a hunt from the end of May thru the middle to the end of June to get in on the peak shooting but go when you can just for the experience. Be car