Mystery ?

Experiences and effectiveness in hunting with the 204 Ruger.
adam

Mystery ?

Post by adam »

This is my first attempt at putting pics up on here so bear with me :!:
If this shows up its a shot at a rabbit I took a while back. The point of interest is that I could not find any evidence of an entry or exit hole anywhere on it !!!
However it was knocked down stone dead and had a broken back and a broken front leg. Has anyone experienced this kind of thing before?
I can only think that the bullet must have literally just skimmed over him and the shock or preasure broke its bones.
' Your here for a good time, not a long time'
foxwhistler
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington L.V.S.F

Re: Mystery ?

Post by foxwhistler »

What sort of range did you take the shot,and what ammo did you use?
I remember a couple of months ago someone posted on exactly the same subject,but unfortunatly i cant find the post at the moment.Perhaps someone else will come in and point you in the right direction.
Jamie.
Just found out the post was called .204 bullet failure.
Hope this helps.
I only have to be lucky once,
the fox has to be lucky every time!
adam

Post by adam »

It was 300yds with rem accutip factory ammo in 40grain
bullfrog
.204 Ruger Guns: Ruger M77 MarkII All Weather Ultralight

Post by bullfrog »

At that range could the bullet have been a little low, and then gravel or shrapnel from the bullet hitting the ground my have knocked the little bugger silly?
Just a thought.
:duh:
A government which robs Peter to pay Paul can always count on the support of Paul.
adam

Post by adam »

I dont know but I have been thinking, and I remember that when I hit the rabbit, or thought I'd hit it, it made that familliar 'whop' sound like bursting a wet paper bag if you get what I mean!!!
Work that out!! :? :?
foxwhistler

Post by foxwhistler »