My bolt won't close!

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
2002silverex
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ 527 Varmint Kevlar

My bolt won't close!

Post by 2002silverex »

I just started reloading for my new .204. Acutally, I just started reloading in general...I have never done it before this.

I have the Hornady Lock n Load Classic Kit, RCBS Neck sizer die, and some other odds and ends.

I Sized and de-primed all my bullets, then threw them in the ultrasonic cleaner, then dryed and de-burred them all.

Then re primed

Then added powder

Then Seated the new bullets. I seated them at 2.330 per someones pet load I found on here. 32 gr vmax.

So I went to range yesterday, got all setup went to chamber my first bullet and the bolt wouldn't go all the way forward...actually it was about 3/4 of an inch from being able to go all the way forward. I didn't push it, and just backed it right out, got the bullet out with a rod, and tried another, same thing. So I packed up and went home.

I don't think the bullet is seated out to far because its not even close to being able to close the bolt. I would think if the bullet was out a little to far is would be a lot closer. its like the bullet never got re-sized or something?

Can someone help.

Thanks,

Tyler
Tokimini
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington 700 SPS with a Shilen barrel

Re: My bolt won't close!

Post by Tokimini »

2002silverex wrote:I Sized and de-primed all my bullets, then threw them in the ultrasonic cleaner, then dryed and de-burred them all.
Is this the first reload on your brass or have you reloaded the same cases several times?
204cat
.204 Ruger Guns: rem 700 sps in 204ruger

Post by 204cat »

probably did not set the case neck back far enough.
2002silverex

Post by 2002silverex »

This is my first reload with these bullets. So they were fired once before I reloaded them.
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Post by Bill K »