Neck size vs full length

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
2002silverex
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ 527 Varmint Kevlar

Neck size vs full length

Post by 2002silverex »

I'm new to reloading, just purchased hornady lock n lOad classic. My
Dad only neck sizes for his 22-250. Do you guys neck size or full length for the .204 and is there a reason why you should or shouldn't do one or the other.

Thanks

Tyler
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Neck size vs full length

Post by Bill K »

As long as I shoot the reload in the same rifle, I only neck size the round. That way it fits that rifle chamber as close as possible to the chambers dimensions. If I plan on using the reload in any other rifle or the same caliber, then full lenght size it, so you know it will fit. Bill K
Hedge
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage model 12 FLV

Post by Hedge »

I neck size only until the shoulders need bumping. Then I use a body die for that. I also quit using the type of die that draws a sizing spud through neck. With the Lee collett die, I get more consistency in neck/shoulder alignment and it works the brass less.
Savage 12 FCV .204 Ruger
Viper PST FFP 4-16x50

ImageImage
======
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity" Sigmund Freud.
jlc204
.204 Ruger Guns: savage 12 vlp single shot 204

Post by jlc204 »

Hedge wrote:I neck size only until the shoulders need bumping. Then I use a body die for that. I also quit using the type of die that draws a sizing spud through neck. With the Lee collett die, I get more consistency in neck/shoulder alignment and it works the brass less.
Hedge,
After you use the body die to bump the shoulders, do you notice a difference in group sizes or POI on the first firing?
If you have a good load with neck-sized-only brass, I would think the body die would decrease the case capacity enough to change pressure and make a difference with the same charge of powder.
Hedge