Short barrel Weatherby

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
meltonden
.204 Ruger Guns: Weatherby Vangard

Short barrel Weatherby

Post by meltonden »

Hi I'm new here been looking for a while so thought I would join. I bought a Weatherby Vanguard 204 R and have had a suppresor fitted and the barrel shortened to 20 inches. I have started to reload for it. I am fairly new to this reloading as well. I got it to shoot a nice group less than .5 at 110 yrds with 32 grain V max and Benchmark 2 and 748 and now have got CFE 223 to try,have the weight for powder over the Man cave. I then borrowed my friends Chrono and got 3240 fps which is I think too slow. I have since bumped the load of powder up and I am now getting 3700 fps which I think is still too slow and the groups have opened up to 1,25 at 110yrds. I see most guns on here are 24"+ I was wondering if any had a short ( 20") barreled gun and if they have what powder and load do you use and what fps are you getting? thanks Den
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Short barrel Weatherby

Post by Bill K »

First off, Welcome to the group. I can not help you a lot, with the 20 inch barrel in the 204R, but on my one 20VT, which is a 20 Bullberry on a TC, I shoot 18.1 grains of H4198 and 18.1 of RL 7 and get around 3600 plus and 1/2 inch groups, all day long.
In my 22 inch 204R, I use 27.8 H4895 or 25.8 of RL 10x. All these loads group 1/2" consistantly and with the 32 grain bullet. In the 204R I am at a average of 3800 plus. Might get more speed, in either, but accuracy is my first choice and these work for me. I would think you could do about the same in your 20 in 204R.. But I would work up to what I am showing you works in my rifles. Bill K
204cat
.204 Ruger Guns: rem 700 sps in 204ruger

Post by 204cat »