Please Help Me With The OAL Gauge!

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
The Reloader
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington SPS Varmit

Please Help Me With The OAL Gauge!

Post by The Reloader »

I finally got my brass in to make some 204 rounds its my first time using the Hornady OAL Gauge and I must be doing something wrong although I am following instructions right on and it feels right. If Needed here is exactly what I am reloading.

Remington Model 700 SPS Varmint in .204
Remington Brass
Hornady 32gr. V-Max

Heres What i did..
1.Took Bolt out of gun
2.Screwed Modified Case onto OAL Gauge
3. Placed Bullet into Modified.
4. Loosened Screw and Put device till case goes as far as it can go.
5. Pushes Plunger Until Gently Feel Contact on lands (I also used my Dewey Cleaning rod through the muzzle and lightly felt the bullet as it again lightly contacts the lands.
6. As the plunger is lightly pressing the bullet on the lands I tighten the brass screw
7.Pulled Out the Modified case and retrieved bullet from lands
Did this over and over probably 5-7 times and got kept getting this same problem.

The Problem is even without the bullet i can even see into the modified case that the bullet is not going to seat deep enough. We are talking almost no room at all. Bullet sits .08" into modified case.
What am i doing wrong everything feel right on!! I don't understand !! :)
Cover Dog
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 BGTVSS

Re: Please Help Me With The OAL Gauge!

Post by Cover Dog »

What am i doing wrong everything feel right on!! I don't understand !!

IMO your not doing anything wrong. It seems like you have a very long chamber. It that's the case your going to have to jump your bullets into the lands. You may want to try a longer bullet to see if you will have more bullet in the case and also be closer to the lands.
The Reloader
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington SPS Varmit

Re: Please Help Me With The OAL Gauge!

Post by The Reloader »