Chronographing

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
TikkaT3Varmint
.204 Ruger Guns: Tikka T3 Varmint

Chronographing

Post by TikkaT3Varmint »

Hi everyone

I'm new to reloading. I am loading 39gr Blitzkings on top of 27gr H4895. Using the RCBS digital scale (any possibility that this may be the problem?). I just bought a chrony F1 and tested my loads out. Problem is.... the highest velocity was 3880 and the lowest was around 3780. The others were anywhere in between. I started reloading to get more consistent ammo and I doubt that this is much better than factory ammo.

Could it be the scale is out? The chrony is out? Or is there something else I am not considering? Very frustrated.

Thanks in advance

Dalton
ryutzy
.204 Ruger Guns: Superior Arms Custom AR-15 Leopold VXIII 4.5-14X50

Re: Chronographing

Post by ryutzy »

couple questions, Are you weighing each charge? Is all the brass trimmed to exact same length? When you lube your cases make sure all lube is completely cleaned out of your case necks. Are all your bullets seated to the exact same length? (Ogive to case head) Primer pockets and flash holes cleaned and deburred?

I have also noticed with my chronograph that for best accuracy the chrono needs to be in direct sunlight. Cloudy days seem to give weird or no readings at all.
It's hard to detect good luck, It looks so much like something you've worked hard for and earned.
Stay humble, Stay teacheable
Jim White
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ-527, Remington 700 VLTHSS

Post by Jim White »

- Changing light conditions can affect chronographs.
- How high or low (from shot-to-shot) the bullet travels over and left/right of the sensors.
- Muzzle distance from test-to-test.
- Muzzle blast, if any.

These are just a few things "that may" cause some issues. Of course, ammo can cause it too, neck tension, brass length, seating depth etc... (I believe ryutzy mentioned a few).
DoubleUp
.204 Ruger Guns: 204 Ruger

Post by DoubleUp »