Full length vs neck sizing

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
si-snipe
.204 Ruger Guns: Howa supreme

Full length vs neck sizing

Post by si-snipe »

This is probably more of a general reloading query but I am using .204. ;)
From experience have you found that you get more accuracy from FL resizing or neck sizing?
I am new to reloading and am gaining experience as often as I can.
I would imagine that FL resizing would be more consistent as the cases are reset every time and proportions the same every time?
What do you guys in search of ultimate accuracy tend to do with multiple reloads?

Many thanks,
Si
OldTurtle
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage mod. 116 and Custom .204 AR

Re: Full length vs neck sizing

Post by OldTurtle »

I use Forster Benchrest dies and FL size all of my .204s....most simply because I haven't been willing to spring for a neck sizer die since I shoot my bolt action so little compared to my AR, which requires FL sizing anyway..

I don't load my rounds 'hot' and anneal my brass every so often..After five years, I've just started finding an occasional split neck..
AR
Factory/Factory
venison_burger
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington 700 sps chambered in .204 ruger

Post by venison_burger »

SI,
I've always been told to only neck-size brass if it will be fired from the same bolt action rifle that just shot it. Like OT said, autos require full length resizing every time, so it depends on what gun you're reloading for. Neck sizing for bolt actions allows that brass which has taken the shape of your chamber to be better aligned with your rifle. I set my full length Redding die so that it decaps the primmer and only sizes about 2mm down on the neck. From what I've been told, neck sizing only needs to be done to such a degree as to keep the bullet in the case.

Just my opinion, and there are others on this forum with more experience, better equipment, and tighter groups than I...

-vb
Rick in Oregon