Noob question

Share information about reloading the 204 Ruger.
2002silverex
.204 Ruger Guns: CZ 527 Varmint Kevlar

Noob question

Post by 2002silverex »

I'm still really new to reloading.

I've got the hornady lock n load kit.

I've
Worked up a good load using my once fired brass.

I just purchased 200 norma brand new 204 brass.
I've got probably a silly question... Do I have to neck size this brass before I load it or is it ready to load seeing its brand new? Don't be to hard on me I've never reloaded with brand new brass.

Thanks in advance.

Tyler
Bill K
.204 Ruger Guns: also now, a Savage switch bull barrel in 204R. 23 inch SS

Re: Noob question

Post by Bill K »

You should run it through your F/L die first, then after that, when fired in your rifle, try to do the neck size only procedure. Bill K :)
RAMOS
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage Model 12 FLV, Cooper M21

Post by RAMOS »

Would not hurt to size it, sometimes the necks get knocked out of round in shipping. However, if they look good try pushing a bullet in by hand to check tension.
Bodei
.204 Ruger Guns: Howa Mod 1500 24" BBL .204R; Cooper M21 20 VT; CZ 527 17HH

Post by Bodei »

You shouldn't need to, but if the necks aren't perfectly round then you may have to. Buy a neck sizing only die. Mine is from Lee.
K = ½mv2
Joe O
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage LRPV,Ruger K1V,G2 Contender

Post by Joe O »

I have loaded hundreds of new brass without running them through any type of die.Just prep the brass,ie flash hole,primer pocket,I usually champher the inside of the neck,Prime,powder and seat the bullet.You should have enough tention. After the first fireing,is when I clean,use a neck sizing die,uniform primer pocket(cleans& uniforms),trim all cases light cut,just to uniform them,deburr and champher.prime and load.
2002silverex

Post by 2002silverex »

I do have a neck sizing die. That is the method I have been using to re size my factory ammo when reloading once fired rounds.
Rick in Oregon