answer to fireballguy on extended long range 204

General discussion and information about the 204 Ruger.
browniejamie60
.204 Ruger Guns: savage model 12

answer to fireballguy on extended long range 204

Post by browniejamie60 »

hello my name is jamie brown. i'm the one thats been shooting 204 at extended ranges. ive been shooting 204 now for around 5 years. 2 years ago i had corbins make me a set of bullet dyes for the 20 caliber so ive been making my own bullets and experimenting with this before berger came out with their 55s. needless to say their bullets seem to shoot better than mine. ive made anywhere from 32s to 60 grain with a 1 in 7 o jive, a cut base flat based boat tail with a .050 to a .100 boat tail. i have done very extensive shooting and studying the 20 caliber bullet and when berger came up with their 55 grain vld they really hit a home run. i shot this bullet now out to a 1,050 yards with very good results. i read on ur question on this form that people had a lot of negative things to say about what i have done with this bullet shooting it so far. the article that everyone is referring to that i posted was a 2 day hunt and the first day we were there we had 0-3 mile an hour wind, thats when i made2 successful shots at 755 yards and missed one at 855. the second day of out hunt we had gusts upto 25 miles an hour. that day my furtherst shot kill was 624 yards. everything that day was considerably closer. also, a 1 in 9 twist works very well with a 55 grain vld with the bergers and what i build also. ive been shooting ground hogs since i was 7 years old and now im 48 years old. ive killed coyotes now for over 20 years, usually on the average of around 20-30 a winter. i have done a very extensive shooting with a 204 ruger from 100 now out to 1050 yards in 50 yard intervals. anyone that thinks this round is not very efficient needs to try it to understand. i was very scepticle about it myself until i did my homework and did hours and hours of testing.