Trouble with 700 VLS

General discussion and information about the 204 Ruger.
abouwer
.204 Ruger Guns: Reminton 700VLS

Trouble with 700 VLS

Post by abouwer »

I just bought a 204 Rem 700 VLS. Its terrible! I have a 243 in this same gun, and it will do half the group size of the 204! I do EVRYTHING! Im new to the 204 but not reloading, and when i say everything, i mean it, from neck size to brass weight. I changed primers, powder, bullets, but this junk will do around an inch at 100. Can they do better, the gun, the 204, the combination?
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Re: Trouble with 700 VLS

Post by skipper »

A 204 should be able to put a whole box of ammo under a dime at 100 yards. Some rifles take some time to settle down and start shooting right. Other rifles don't like certain bullets, especially the 40 gr. bullets. Otherwise your rifle should be capable of sub MOA groups, pretty much, right out of the box.

You didn't mention what bullet, powder, primer and brass combination you're shooting. How many bullets do you have down the tube? Another thing the 204 likes is a really clean bore. They tend to build up powder residue right at the throat that is particularly hard to clean. You have to scrub pretty well in the throat area. Another thing you might want to check is your scope mount. Tell us some more about what and how you shoot.
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

Skipper is right on target, but you also didn't mention if the rifle is stock or has been properly bedded and free-floated with the trigger attended to also.

Even with the best handloads, if the rifle has a stressed receiver or if the forearm wood is touching the barrel, it won't shoot for crap.

Tell us more about your loads, seating depth, and the rifle particulars.
Semper Fortis
Rick in Oregon
NRA Life/OHA/VHA/VVA