cooldown time

General discussion and information about the 204 Ruger.
doctor duck
.204 Ruger Guns: Howa 15001js697o

cooldown time

Post by doctor duck »

I'm wondering how long I should wait between shots and groups to allow the barrel to cool. I am fairly new to this target shooting and I'm pretty sure a little more patience would help my groups. The last two outings to shoot resulted in the best group being the first. Also while trying out a few loads with Reloader 10x the first group was much better than others, 24.0 grains vs 24.5 and 25.0, all with 39 grain Sierra BK's. Last group I tried,29.5gr BLC-2 with 39 gr Sierra BK's shot awful whereas the outing before the same load was my best. Next outing I will shoot the same loads in a different order to see how they stack up then. I know I should give more time between shots but finding free time to shoot is not easy.
Hotshot
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage and ar-15

Re: cooldown time

Post by Hotshot »

As a rule of thumb, try a minute between shots and 5 minutes between groups. I use longer intervals with bigger cartridges that burn more powder. On a real hot day it takes longer to cool down than on a cool day.
Lee C.

Post by Lee C. »

I only shoot on the week ends, and it might take me 2hrs. to shoot 30 rounds. It never pays to get in a hurry when shooting for groups or even just doing a powder test. Take your time and have fun with it.
jo191145

Post by jo191145 »

dd

You've been given some very good advice.

Personally I shoot mine fast and dirty because thats how I need mine to perform.
Theres a difference in load development for the two variations in style. Loads that work in a relatively clean cool barrel might fall apart when pushed fast through a hot dirty bore. Finding a load that can take the heat is a little harder.