Optic Power Hogs

Discussion about rifle scopes, spotting scopes and binoculars.
VarMitt
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100

Optic Power Hogs

Post by VarMitt »

Ok guys, what are your thoughts on the Burris 8-32x50 Black Diamond compared to the Bushnell Elite6500 4.5-30x50. I have no experience with either brand (other than low end Bushnell's a long time ago). I was researching for a replacement scope for the old 270 (the Burris BD 4-16x50) And doing the search; the other two caught my attention. I thought maybe I should replace my present optics on the 22-250(Leup 6.5-20x50 VIII) with something that has more magnification(old eyeballs!). Any one have experience with these two power animals?
acloco
.204 Ruger Guns: 12FV, 12BVSS -S

Re: Optic Power Hogs

Post by acloco »

From what I saw, I do not believe the Bushnell is worth the cash they want.

I have a Burris Black Diamond. I like it, a lot! .....but, Burris scopes do not have a lot of adjustment in the scope until you get to the tactical models.

I would go with a Leupold, personally. Unless, you want to spend a bit more and get a Nightforce.
Hotshot
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage and ar-15

Post by Hotshot »

VarMitt,
Have you ever tried using more than 20X in the field? Hard to focus, small field of view, and impossible with heat waves(mirage). I think you are well equipped with what you have.
Rick in Oregon
.204 Ruger Guns: Sako 75V, Cooper MTV, Kimber 84M, Cust M700 11 Twist

Post by Rick in Oregon »

VarMitt: FWIW, I agree with both acloco and Hotshot, in that all my rat sniping rifles usually wear Lupy 6.5-20X's, and about the only time in the field I can really use 20X to any effective degree, is about the first hour of shooting in the early morning on distant targets......IF it's not too warm out that day. After that, the mirage comes up and makes anything more than say, 16X or 14X useless.