discrepancy in load data

Ask questions and share information about reloading.
mzimmers
.204 Ruger Guns: none yet

discrepancy in load data

Post by mzimmers »

Can someone tell me why the 40 grain Hornady loads with H4895 here in the forum differ so much from Hodgdon's data?

Forum: 24.5 - 26.7
Hodgdon: 26.0 - 27.7C

I'm trying to extrapolate between 40 and 50 grain load data for my 45s, but this makes me a bit cautious.

Thanks.
Fred_C_Dobbs
.204 Ruger Guns: Savage 12 Varminter Low Profile

Re: discrepancy in load data

Post by Fred_C_Dobbs »

The header information on this web site's load data page says it was copied from Hodgdon. Seems to me that would mean that either the Hodgdon data changed of the guy who put that note at the top of the page lied.
Bitman
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington 700 VSSF

Post by Bitman »

I'm by no means an expert, but I bet if you look at 4 different loading manuals.
You'll find 4 different starting and max loads listed for a specific load.
Just depends on what case, primer, and barrel is used.
Fred_C_Dobbs

Post by Fred_C_Dobbs »

mzimmers, are you looking in the Hodgdon manual or the Hornady manual?
mzimmers
.204 Ruger Guns: none yet

Post by mzimmers »

Hodgdon. I don't have a Hornady manual.
Sidewinderwa
.204 Ruger Guns: Savages

Post by Sidewinderwa »

Barnes has min 26.0 max 28.0

Berger min 23.5 max 26.5

I did a pressure ladder test on MY rifle and had no pressure signs at over 28 grains. Depends on the rifle and components. My rifle likes a load under all the max loads so that is what I load. I am more interested in accuracy than speed.
Please, no Sidewinder today!
Fred_C_Dobbs

Post by Fred_C_Dobbs »