Distance to lands

Ask questions and share information about reloading.
fisherman
.204 Ruger Guns: savage model 12

Distance to lands

Post by fisherman »

I am new to reloading and am trying to find an accurate load for my savage 12, 204. I have read that most rifels shoot there best group when the bullet is loaded to a lenth that just touches the lands. After measuring and doing the math (wich I am Better at than spelling) I find that I can not get there. A factory load, Hornaday 32. gr. total lenth. 2.245 would have to be increased in lenth to 2.450 to touch the lands. All the bullets I have tried Nosler 40 gr. , sierra 39gr., berger 40 gr., hornaday 32, & 40 gr.,are not long enough . it seams that i need a longer neck or a longer bullet, or it could be that my inexperiance is shining brightly!!! . so far i have achived 1/2 " at 100 . not good enough. any advice? thanks. fisherman.
skipper
.204 Ruger Guns: Remington XR 100, Custom build Lilja/Panda/Shehane/Jewell

Re: Distance to lands

Post by skipper »

You're just experiencing the outrageously long factory .204 chambers. Most everyone has the same problem. You have one of a couple of choices here. If you use a magazine you can only load as long as the magazine will allow, that is, if you intend to use it, or you can test varying lengths to find out what your rifle likes the best. Start with 2.250 and shoot a group of five. Then load .5 longer each group of five all the way until you just have about a half of a calibers diameter left in the case, for safety. That's about .102 seated in the neck. You may just find that your rifle likes them seated with a bit of a jump. My old XR-100 preferred to have them seated right at book length. Go figure.

The last option is to get an aftermarket barrel and have it reamed to your specifications. (zero freebore) Then you can jamm those little pills into the lands. My custom Lilja barrel loves them like that.
Image Hold 'em & Squeeze 'em
Hotshot